Hummingbird

This hummingbird of mine has come to my window.

The sun shines bright in the afternoon, warming the blankets on my bed.

My mind becomes a blank canvas, waiting for a splash of color to paint a memory.

And I am incandescently happy.

This hummingbird is You.

Always waiting patiently at my window.

Fervently waiting for me at the same time, every afternoon.

I can count on You being there.

So full of life, I take every emotion felt, and hold on to it for as long as I can.

And nothing, in that moment, can take away my joy.

But as quick as the seasons change, so too have I.

This hummingbird of mine has left.

In its place, other birds call out to me.

I shut my window, for their calls are too loud, almost deafening.

The sun shines bright into my room, and I still feel its warmth,

but this hummingbird of mine is no longer present.

Months pass and still I wait for my hummingbird,

Patience slowly wanes;

as fleeting as the waves upon the shore,

until I have forgotten Him altogether.

Until one afternoon, I open my window for a breath of fresh air.

There You are, waiting patiently. Just as Perfect as the time I first saw You.

I am taken back.

My mind becomes a blank canvas, waiting for a splash of color to paint a memory.

And my mind paints a picture.

Not of a memory this time,

but of a Hope.

A Hope I have found in You.

Leave a Reply

